# REPORT FOR: ANNUAL COUNCIL

**Date of Meeting:** 18 May 2017

**Subject:** Cabinet and Committee Memberships

Responsible Officer: Hugh Peart – Director of Legal and

Governance Services

Exempt: No

**Enclosures:** Appendix A – Cabinet Allocation of Responsibilities

**Appendix B** – List of Committee & Memberships **Appendix C** – List of Cabinet Advisory Panels and

Consultative Forums and Memberships

#### 1. Introduction

1.1 The Council is required to review and determine the allocation of places on standing committees to political groups in accordance with the political balance rules. Members of Committees and Sub-Committees are appointed in accordance with the wishes of the political groups. The Licensing and General Purposes Committee and Overview and Scrutiny Committee will meet on the rising of the Annual Council Meeting to determine the allocation of places on their Sub-Committees. The names of the Members proposed to be appointed by the political group which holds the majority of Members in the Council are attached.

### 1.2 Political Balance

The allocation is determined in accordance with the application of "political balance" rules under the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and is designed to ensure that the political composition of the Council's committees, insofar as possible, replicates the political composition of the Council.

### 1.3 Cabinet

The Local Government Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 requires the Leader of the Council to notify it of:

- The name of the Deputy Leader of the Council; and
- The names of Cabinet Members and their delegated authorities (i.e. Portfolios).



1.4 The Constitution will be updated to reflect the changes in this agenda by the Director of Legal & Governance Services in accordance with his existing delegation.

## 2. Recommendations:

- 2.1 It be noted that Councillor Keith Ferry is the Deputy Leader of the Council;
- 2.2 It be noted that the following Councillors are appointed to the Cabinet (Executive) with the identified Portfolios:

Portfolio	Councillor		
Leader of the Council and Portfolio Holder for Strategy, Partnerships and Devolution	Councillor Sachin Shah		
Deputy Leader and Portfolio Holder for Business, Planning and Regeneration	Councillor Keith Ferry		
Portfolio Holder for Adults & Older People	Councillor Simon Brown		
Portfolio Holder for Housing and Employment	Councillor Glen Hearnden		
Portfolio Holder for Finance & Commercialisation	Councillor Adam Swersky		
Portfolio Holder for Public Health, Equality & Community Safety	Councillor Varsha Parmar		
Portfolio Holder for Environment	Councillor Graham Henson		
Portfolio Holder for Children, Young People & Schools	Councillor Christine Robson		
Portfolio Holder for Performance, Corporate Resources and Customer Services	Councillor Kiran Ramchandani		
Portfolio Holder for Community, Culture and Resident Engagement	Councillor Sue Anderson		

- 2.3 That the terms of reference for the Portfolio Holders attached at Appendix A be agreed for inclusion in the Council's Constitution;
- 2.4 That the Council determines the allocation of places on the following committees in accord with the "political balance" rules in the Local Government and Housing Act 1989:

Committee	Size	Labour	Conservative	Ungrouped 3
		Group 33	Group 27	
Governance, Audit, Risk Management and Standards	7	4	3	0
Planning	7	4	3	0
Overview and Scrutiny	9	5	4	0
Pension Fund Committee	4	2	2	0
Licensing and General Purposes Committee	15	8	6	1
SACRE	3	2	1	0

and appoint Members to them, in accordance with the notification from Political Groups;

- 2.5 That the establishment and terms of reference of all the above Committees and other bodies, as set out in Appendix B be agreed;
- 2.6 That the amendments to terms of reference of the Health and Wellbeing Board approved by the Monitoring Officer be included in the Council's Constitution; and
- 2.7 That the establishment and terms of reference of the Cabinet Advisory Panels and Consultative Forums, as set out in Appendix C be agreed.

#### **Contact:**

Elaine McEachron, Democratic & Electoral Services Manager

Tel: 020 8424 1097

E-mail: elaine.mceachron@harrow.gov.uk

# **Background Papers:**

Constitution